Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

200 Rap Pioneers Including Run DMC, Snoop Dogg, Kid Capri, Ice-T, Raekwon, Ghostface Killah, Big Daddy Kane, Kurtis Blow, Melle Mel, AZ Honour DJ Kay Slay on New Single ‘Rolling 200 Deep’

Photo: DJ Kay Slay in Harlem Subway Yard by Martha Cooper

Legendary New York City disc jockey and Hip-Hop pioneer DJ Kay Slay has posthumously released his hour-long rap record “Rolling 200 Deep”.

The hour-long posse cut features 200 Hip-Hop pioneers including AZ, Run DMC, Raekwon & Ghostface Killah of the “Wu-Tang Clan”, Big Daddy Kane, Imam T.H.U.G., Kid Capri, Snoop Dogg, E-40, Kool Keith and Kurtis Blow.

The revered figure, referred to by The New York Times as “Hip-Hop’s One-Man Ministry of Insults”, passed away last year after a tough battle with COVID-19. Across a historic rap career of over 40 years, Kay Slay, or “The Drama King” left an unprecedented impact on its culture.

As per Complex, “Rolling 200 Deep” is “the fourth installment in DJ Kay Slay’s “Rolling Deep” series, following 2005’s “Rolling 25 Deep,” 2020’s “Rolling 50 Deep,” and 2021’s “Rolling 110 Deep.”

The single, which further brings together marquee Hip-Hop figures Grandmaster Melle Mel, Tony Yayo, Bun B, Papoose, Large Professor, KXNG Crooked, Master Rob, Sticky Fingaz, Slim Dime, Jim Jones, Tony Touch, Dave East, Benny The Butcher, and “Detroit To Antophill” producer Lazarus, is released in 16 parts.

DJ Kay Slay (Top-Center) in ‘Style Wars’ Hip-Hop Documentary, 1983

“Rolling 200 Deep” single arrives alongside a massive visual cut featuring the 200 emcees. You can watch it below.